Category Archives: 2010 Publications

Susan Glaspell: The Complete Plays (MacFarland 2010)

Edited by Linda Ben-Zvi, Professor Emerita in Theatre and English at Tel Aviv University and Colorado State University, and by  J. Ellen Gainor, Professor of Theatre and Associate Dean of the Graduate School at Cornell University.

The first complete collection of American Pulitzer Prize winner Susan Glaspell’s dramatic works, this book includes the one-acts Suppressed Desires, Trifles, The People, The Outside, Woman’s Honor, Close the Book, Tickless Time, and Free Laughter and the full-length plays Bernice, Inheritors, The Verge, Alison’s House, The Comic Artist, Chains of Dew, and Springs Eternal, the last two of which are published here for the first time. Each play includes an introductory essay along with extended biographical and critical analyses. Two appendices give details on both the first runs and select recent productions of the plays.

ISBN: 978-0-7864-3432-9

To order:

Her America: “A Jury of Her Peers” and Other Stories by Susan Glaspell (Iowa 2010)

Edited and with an introduction by Patricia L. Bryan and Martha C. Carpentier, this collection includes “A Jury of Her Peers” and 11 other Glaspell short stories never reprinted since their original publication, most in Harper’s Magazine, the preeminent arbiter of American literary tastes for over fifty years.  Bryan and Carpentier’s introduction places Glaspell’s short fiction in the traditions of Twain’s humor and Poe’s grotesque, and provides startling new data about the publication history of “Jury” — now for the first time, readers have access to the original ending of Glaspell’s most famous work.  Very affordable, this anthology would be a great addition to any course in American fiction.

To order go to Amazon, or:

To listen to Patricia Bryan’s interview on WUNC, click on July 21.