Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching for 2022

The Baylor University Cherry Award program is designed to honor great teachers, to stimulate discussion in the academy about the value of teaching, and to encourage departments and institutions to value their own great teachers. The award recipient will receive $250,000 and will teach in residence at Baylor University during the 2022 fall or 2023 spring semester. The award recipient’s home department will receive $25,000.

The Award Process

Three finalists will be chosen from the field of nominees. Each finalist will receive $15,000 and will be invited to present a series of lectures at Baylor University in the fall of 2021. Additionally, each finalist will present a Cherry Award Lecture on his or her home campus, and each home department will receive $10,000.

Selection Criteria

Baylor University’s Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching honors outstanding professors in the English-speaking world who are distinguished by their ability to communicate as classroom teachers. Individuals nominated for the award should have a proven record as an extraordinary teacher with a positive, inspiring and long-lasting effect on students, along with a record of distinguished scholarship. Nominations should correspond with academic units engaged in undergraduate teaching at Baylor.

Schedule for the 2020 Award

  • November 1, 2020
    Nomination deadline
  • Spring 2021
    Three finalists announced
  • Fall 2021
    Finalists visit Baylor University campus and make presentations; also make home campus presentations
  • Spring 2022
    Cherry Award recipient announced
  • Fall 2022 or Spring 2023
    Cherry Award recipient semester-in-residence at Baylor

For more information on the nomination process, please visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.