APC Report: November 19, 2021

APC met on November 18, November 11, November 4 (with the Provost and Dean Frierson), October 28, and October 21.

A) At its November 11 meeting, APC voted unanimously (10-0) to recommend approval of the proposed curriculum changes to the MAE in Higher Education and Student Affairs and to the EdD and PhD programs in the College of Education and Health Sciences. The proposal for these programs is attached.

<u>Draft Senate Resolution</u>: Resolved: The proposed curriculum changes to the MAE in Higher Education and Student Affairs and to the EdD and PhD programs are approved.

B) Also at its November 11 meeting, APC approved (13-1) a recommendation and requests regarding a proposed Bachelors of Science program in Interprofessional Health Science from the School of Health and Medical Sciences (SHMS). These do not require Senate action.

1) APC recommended that SHMS faculty meet with the appropriate department chairs and faculty in other colleges to discuss the proposed program.

2) APC requested that SHMS revise and resubmit its proposal and requests that it include certain information in that resubmission

As part of its discussion regarding the recommendation and requests, APC discussed the tenure status of faculty in the SHMS program.

(C) Also at its November 11 meeting, APC discussed and approved a recommendation regarding a small change to the requirements for the Deans List, namely, to modify a restriction that a student cannot have withdrawn from a class to be eligible. APC will bring a resolution regarding that recommendation at the next Senate meeting.

(D) APC met on Thursday, November 18, to consider revisions to its Approval Form for New Programs and for its Guidelines Regarding New Program Proposals to conform them with APC's Bylaws. APC approved those revisions, 8-0. These are committee documents and do not require a Senate vote. Copies of the documents with revisions marked are attached. The Form will be converted to a fillable PDF.

Respectfully submitted,

Philip Moremen and Peter Reader, Co-Chairs